What kind of journey do you want?


Saturday’s are my “rest” days which usually means deep clean the whole house. Cleaning was fantastic today because Alex is in Maine visiting friends and family for a week and I can focus so much better whenever he is not here distracting me! ๐Ÿ™‚ we usually end up goofing off or not actually cleaning! So today I got A LOT done!

I was going through all our files and paperwork and trashing what needed to be trashed and organizing what needed to be kept! I stumbled upon a clinical care visit summary from march 4th 2014, I was at a very rough spot in my life…this appointment was confirming that I was having a miscarriage and that Alex and I lost our “baby G” as we were calling he/she. But enough with the sad part… I was weighing in at 183 lbs…still very much overweight… I know I am an emotional eater big time…like big time…I remember consuming more butterfingers than ever before and atleast a tube of cookie dough a week for like 2 weeks… I was so depressed and unhappy!

I began my weight loss in October weighing in at 205 lbs… so in 7 months from March to October I gained 22 pounds… I was doing the math and realizing that in 7 months from October to May I lost 73 pounds and it got me to thinking about those motivational quotes about how the weight loss journey may be hard…but being fat is hard… I can’t believe I let myself gain so much weight in such few months but I also can’t believe how easy it was for me to gain the weight… I mean sure I knew I was not doing myself any good by eating so much crap but I couldn’t believe that I was 183 lbs and let myself creep up to 205. Holy moses! Then I was shocked that in the same amount of time it took me to gain 22 lbs i busted my ass and lost 73! I am so proud of myself! Everyday still has its challenges…and some days I still want to eat cookie dough and candy and binge eat…but then I think of all the progress I have made…and think of how shitty i felt being so large…and how upset my stomach gets when I eat horribly…and then I say to myselfย Schaeffer, what kind of journey do you want to continue on?ย Sure…I could easily sit down and eat crappy and get enjoyment for a few moments and watch my journey take me down a path of weight gain and unhappiness…Or….I can limit myself…have non scale victories over the food going into my mouth and continue on my maintenance journey that I am so proud of!

Remember…it is up to you! Start today on your journey…become a better, healthier, happier you! If I can do it, so can you!!

from left to right: Summer 2015, March 2015, August 2014

from left to right: Summer 2015, March 2015, August 2014

October vs July

October vs July

Today-July 13th hard work pays off!

Today-July 13th hard work pays off!

3 thoughts on “What kind of journey do you want?

  1. ironlizerd says:

    Hi ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a similar fitness story. I just wanted you to know that reading your post is going to help me avoid the office cookies I have been eyeing for two hours. So thanks and congrats on a job well-done! Liz

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

